What is first-semester anatomy like at your school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BlistexWorks

Sophomore Member
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am getting the impression that there is great variation between different veterinary schools with regards to how anatomy is taught. I think it would be interesting to hear different perspectives from each of the schools, and perhaps pros/cons and how it could be improved.

I'm a first year student at the University of Florida, and this is what it was like, in general:

For this fall semester, we were required to have a copy of "Guide to the Dissection of the Dog" (by Evans de Lahunta), as well as an anatomy lab guide (84 pages) that included a section on performing a clinical examination as well as other clinical procedures. Another guide book (62-page clinical correlations guide) was filled with surgical procedures and ideal approaches that pertained to what we were learning. It included information on what structural landmarks to look out for and what nerves and vessels to avoid. We had three lectures pertaining to this, which then included 30 minutes with live dogs (about 6 people per dog) in order to palpate certain important structures and ask questions.

The course had five quizzes, two exams, and a cumulative final exam. The quizzes were roughly divided up by thoracic limb, pelvic limb, thorax, abdomen, and head. The first exam included information regarding the first two quizzes plus a written portion, and the second exam included information regarding quizzes three and four plus its own written portion. The final exam, counting for 1/3 of our total grade, was cumulative but focused heavily on the canine head.