What is meant by the derivatives in a stock market?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nameeta26

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to stock market but I am planning to invest in a stock market later. Please help me.

Members don't see this ad.

(I find it slightly odd your first post on a forum for med students/residents/fellows/attendings is a financial question, but nonetheless in the spirit of offering sound advice)

derivatives? Stay very far away. That's something akin to a 4 letter word to a newbie investor and something only insanely rich/dumb people should be playing with. You are new to the stock market? I'd read some basic books/websites about investing. Try the Bogleheads Wiki. Go to WhiteCoatInvestor's site. First figure out your avenues for investing (things like 401K, IRA, etc) and then figure out your risk tolerance and appropriate asset allocation.

If you want to keep it overly simple, figure out how you will be investing (whether in 401K through work) or IRA (traditional vs Roth) that you set up yourself someplace like Vanguard and then just purchase shares in a Target Date Retirement fund where you tell it what year you plan to retire and it will pick a roughly appropriate selection of investments for someone like yourself.

Reactions: 1 users
First of all thank you for the warm gesture. I am really glad that you responded to my question. I want to know more about the market and enhance my knowledge for a smart investment.

Members don't see this ad :)
First of all thank you for the warm gesture. I am really glad that you responded to my question. I want to know more about the market and enhance my knowledge for a smart investment.

Try investopedia.