Quantcast

What is med school like?

DreyA

Reaction score
Hello. I'm a current high school student who is interested in becoming a doctor (most likely ophthalmologist). I was just wondering, what is medical school like? I know that it's hard to get in and hard to stay in, but what is it like as far as classes and stuff? Is it more hands on learning in hospitals, or classroom lectures, or both? And are all types of doctors in classes together, or is it split by specialty? What kinds of topics are taught? Does the specialty teaching and training (like for an ophthalmologist) come during medical school or solely during residency? Sorry for all the numerous questions whose answers might seem obvious for some of you, I just want to know what to expect if I decide to embark on this kind of journey. Thanks

psychhopefull2016

Reaction score
So after you get your undergrad degree in whatever it is, you start medical school which goes as follows

Everyone starts out learning to be undifferentiated doctor

Years 1-2: Classroom learning with maybe some half days of clinical stuff here and there to get your feet wet. More of the basic science and pathophysiology

Year 3- You rotate through your school's required clerkships which include but are not limited to OB/gyn, Internal medicine, Pediatrics, family medicine, psychiatry, neurology, and surgery

Year 4- You do a few things your school requires of you and some electives like say, optho electives if that is what floats your boat. For me I'm doing mostly peds, psych, and women's health things because that is what I enjoy.

You can pepper in some out of the classroom experience like research and volunteering in optho throughout all the years if you so desire.

You would get into the nitty gritty of whatever specialty you choose in residency.

Reactions: 1 users

AlteredScale

Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
And are all types of doctors in classes together, or is it split by specialty?