Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

what is my chance with allopathic schools?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by DrMcDreamy3, Dec 11, 2005.

1. DrMcDreamy3

DrMcDreamy3 New Member

Pre-Medical
    Hi everybody,
    I am in quite a bit of a jam and need some input. I have read many helpful posts and I would appreciate it if you guys would brighten my path a little bit. In my first 2 years of college, my GPA ended up to be a 3.2 overall. The reason for the low GPA I figured is that I was adjusting and that I really had no direction in where I wanted to go. My whole mindset was to get the hell out of college asap. I am currently in my 3rd year and my mindset has totally been reversed. I totally want to be a doctor now and will work my butt off; the commitment is there now. I believe if I get 3.8-4.0 this year, I could pull my overall GPA to about a 3.5, which I'm certain I can do. I am doing undergraduate research and volunteering at a community clinic while holding a job at school. I have been involved with the Boy Scouts for 11 years. I was an Eagle Scout and currently an assistant scoutmaster, helping to kids of all ages. If it comes to scouting, I've been there done that. Also, I will be taking classes such as psych and speech to improve myself and possibly help me to become a good doctor (not to impress the schools). I will take the MCAT in april. With the knowledge of my qualifications, I want to ask you guys what my chance is of getting into med school. What else can I do to improve my chance? Also, if I apply this year and don't get in (knock on wood) and then apply again next year, would it hurt me that I've applied before already? I'm sorry for this being so long, but I'm just very worried. I figured out I