• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

• How To ACE Your Medical School Interview

In this webinar hosted by SDN with experts from BeMo Academic Consulting, you will learn a simple five-step process to help you translate your interview invitation into an acceptance.

bigwilliel

10+ Year Member
Nov 5, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental
Hey guys,

So I'm down to one interview left at BU in the coming week and I'm preparing for the worst (reapply for next year)...my dental experience is limited to just shadowing and I've done a fair amount of that...I've read about a lot of people becoming dental assistants, what is needed to become one? thanks in advance :thumbup:

Cyca24

10+ Year Member
Dec 27, 2006
Las Vegas
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental
I've been assisting for almost 5 yrs and for many general offices, you don't need any experience. For the specialties, sometimes they require a couple years or so. It may depend on where you live, but most of the places I've seen like people with no experience so they can train you their way. Otherwise, there are some community colleges with assisting programs, or other assistant training schools. I don't think they are worth it though; you learn the job better by just doing it. But if you've shadowed enough, you probably don't need to assist to boost your app. Good luck with BU though! Hope you get in

in her drawer

Ain't no glory in a war
10+ Year Member
Sep 11, 2006
The City, CA
Status (Visible)
  1. Dental Student
I've been assisting for almost 5 yrs and for many general offices, you don't need any experience. [. . .] It may depend on where you live, but most of the places I've seen like people with no experience so they can train you their way.

This is great news. I was kinda hoping to get an assisting job this summer.

About the Ads

SFPredent

10+ Year Member
May 7, 2006
San Francisco
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Dental