what is the best way to consolidate credit card before school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TX2thDR

don't mess 'wit texas
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have about $20,000 in credit card debt. :scared: I start in the fall and would like to consolidate this before I begin. What do you all suggest? I've applied for a CitiAssist private medical loan (still waiting). Was denied for not having a co-signer at Chase and at Wells Fargo and I'm afraid the same might happen at Citi. I'm currently working full time to pay it down as much as I can for the summer, but it won't be enough. Oh, I filled out the FAFSA but I am still waiting. I'm new to all this, so any help is appreciated. What is the fastest way to consolidate this mess without having to kill myself for the next 20 years of my life? Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

TX2thDR said:
I have about $20,000 in credit card debt. :scared: I start in the fall and would like to consolidate this before I begin. What do you all suggest? I've applied for a CitiAssist private medical loan (still waiting). Was denied for not having a co-signer at Chase and at Wells Fargo and I'm afraid the same might happen at Citi. I'm currently working full time to pay it down as much as I can for the summer, but it won't be enough. Oh, I filled out the FAFSA but I am still waiting. I'm new to all this, so any help is appreciated. What is the fastest way to consolidate this mess without having to kill myself for the next 20 years of my life? Thanks in advance!
Hi there,

I think you're already evaluating all the options possible for deferring that debt. That is, maxing out your subsidized/sponsored loans allowed under your educaiton budget... and then turning to the private loans.