What is your undergrad major? Why did you choose it?

carn311

Dead tired.
10+ Year Member
Jan 31, 2005
Midwest
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I've come to the point in my academic career where I must choose a major. Yet I just can't commit. I dont know what my problem is. I was gunho Biology untill I transfered to my 4-year and found out that their department stunk.

So, I turn to you SDN. What did you guys major in? Why? Do you have any regrets? Did you find any biases against or for your major during the admissions process?

PineappleGirl

Sweet and Juicy!
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Sep 30, 2004
Boston
Status
I majored in history because I did very well in it in high school and my high school advisor encouraged me to major in something that I loved and knew I could do well in. I certainly found my history classes to be completely fascinating and it was a good major for me in terms of allowing me to graduate with a high GPA.
However, having a history degree is not at all good when it comes to getting a job. I took a lotof psych courses in undergrad as well (almost had a minor in psych) and have been trying to get research assistant positions in psychiatry departments at med schools and hospitals here, but all to no avail. I wish I had majored in psych or bio or chem because I think it is much easier to get a research assistant or lab tech job with these majors.
On a random note, the other thing that bugs me about having a history degree is that every one keeps telling me to go to law school.

shantster

Eye protection!
10+ Year Member
Feb 10, 2005
Wherever life takes me...
Status
Resident [Any Field]
carn311 said:
I've come to the point in my academic career where I must choose a major. Yet I just can't commit. I dont know what my problem is. I was gunho Biology untill I transfered to my 4-year and found out that their department stunk.