what kind of breaks do you take?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yalla22

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have found myself getting so burnt out, so easily:( and furthermore I haven't really found a good way of rejuvinating myself.
I'm actually not even studying that much but after I take 1 subject test and review the answers, I find myself a little drained. I'm sure this isn't normal and that I'm a little sensitive, but I'm wondering what kinds of breaks people take. Like I'm the kind of person that needs to break after every hour.. :eek:

Members don't see this ad.

Try taking a full length practice test with only the allowed breaks, 10 minutes between tests and an hour for lunch. The MCAT is grueling, and you need to be able to concentrate for at least 100 minutes at a time.

Right now I am studying every night from about 7-12. I get back from the lab, eat, take a bunch of vitamins, take an hour nap. Go running for about 30minutes, take a shower and hit the books.

Something i noticed when i first started studying was if I was eating like crap that day or if i didnt do any physical activity I couldnt concentrate as well. I cut out all junk food and soda and im doing a lot better now because of that.

If you havent taken any practice tests, take one, if u do badly the adrenaline levels should be enough to keep ya awake lol

I take however long necessary to feel refreshed and go back to studying. Sometimes 1-2 mins for washroom/water break, sometimes 5-10 mins after I finish a chapter, sometimes a few hours off to listen to music or watch some tv/check email/SDN (like right now) if I'm not in the mood. I figure that theres no need getting burned out as the 10+ practice tests I take should be enough to train me for breaks during the actual test. Practice tests should burn me out enough, I don't want to burn out studying.

Members don't see this ad :)