What kind of post-bac do I need???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IDFMedic

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Graduated biochem in 08 from UMASS Amherst. I have a very low cGPA (2.45), and sGPA 2.75. Im currently workin on MCAT and aiming for a mid 30's score. I have lots of great ECs (research experience, lab work army medic, etc). looks like I have to do a post bac to undo the damage of undergrad, but im really at odds as to which program suits me best.

My GPA is terrible but Its also very inconsistent: I have a bunch of C's in no name courses (F in music theory, D in astronomy) but also A's in heavy science classes (A- physical chemsitry, A in calc 2). I also have a bunch of A's and B's in upper level sciences as well as C's D's in other science and non science classes. I didnt really try hard in ugrad except for the classes that interested me (hence higher sGPA).

An undergrad certificate program would be a short (1-1.5 years) program and a good way to show consistent ability in the uGRAD sciences. but how strongly would a high (all A's) one year post bac GPA be weighed next to my uGRAD GPA?

At the same time a SMP or a 2 year program of grad classes wouldn't really be compared to my uGRAD GPA directly, but would show ability in grad courses that are more correlatable to med classes.

One thing to keep in mind is i will not have my MCAT scores in time to apply for the fall, and since all SMPs require MCAT scores I would have to wait an entire year just to enter a 2 year SMP. Since I am looking for the fastest way to get into med school, would a one year post bac (or maybe longer) beginning this fall, cut it to get into med school (assuming excellent grades, and more ECs) and a mid 30's mcat?????