What makes you stand out as a non-trad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WTEngel

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I thought it would be really interesting to start a thread about what makes each of us stand out as a non-trad student, and how that fact can be used to our advantage in the admissions process.

I have been a paramedic for 9 years. I spent 4 of those years on a fire department working in a fairly rough part of town. I then went on to work as a flight paramedic for the largest level one pediatric trauma center in Texas for 3 years, and did a little over a year in Saudi Arabia training physicians and paramedics to work for the new Saudi Helicopter EMS program. Now I am the lead faculty for a fairly large paramedic paramedic program, as I finish my bachelor's degree.

To sum up the biggest thing I have taken away from all of these experiences combined, it is the fact that we should always be increasing our level of education, and in turn educating those who will take our position as we move on. The cycle of gaining education, progressively moving into roles of greater responsibility, and making sure you use your experience to hopefully leave the next generation better prepared than you were is constantly moving...

Anyway, that's my (extremely abbreviated) story. I would really like to hear from other non-trads about your background and how those previous experiences have shaped the path you are traveling towards medical school.

Members don't see this ad.

I used to be a mechanic, worked numerous blue collar jobs, and I applied as a truck driver. Doubt there are many truck drivers in med school.

I used to be a mechanic, worked numerous blue collar jobs, and I applied as a truck driver. Doubt there are many truck drivers in med school.

I think blue collar jobs offer some of the best life-lessons around. Not much substitute for the school of hard knocks, right?