Dec 10, 2009
The Great Northwest
Status
Pre-Dental
So, in preparation for not receiving an acceptance this cycle, I have decided to start studying to take the DAT again. I took it last in 2008 when I graduated from undergrad. I'm a little nervous about studying for the gen-chem (well, a lot), feel decent about o-chem (got really good grades in those classes) and bio is "ehhh" (bio, to me, is pretty straightforward memorization, not really worried, just need to put the time in). On my last test I received a 28 on RC and a 22 on PAT so I really just want to focus on the sciences (QR is a joke. Oh, I'll still study for it, but come on...). It's been a good 2-3 years since I have taken these classes and would like some input on what my fellow SDN'ers feel is the best book to accomplish studying the "science" section of the DAT. As stated above, I am most worried about trying to relearn the concepts from GChem as that series was harder to me than OChem.

Currently, I have the 2007-2008 Kaplan book to go along with my textbooks and notes on GChem, OChem and Bio from undergrad. What else would you recommend?

(I bet there is a thread buried somewhere in SDN that would address this, but making a new post is oh, so much easier.)

Thanks!! :thumbup:

Erhatstil

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jul 9, 2008
Status
Pre-Dental
i'm in the same boat, but gave up about a month ago to get in this cycle. so, i've put in about 6 weeks of studying thus far. for bio, i've found cliff's to be a good overview of everything but still use my textbook a ton. in my opinion, cliff's isn't quite detailed enough. for example, the embryology section in cliff's is like 1-2 pages, no diagrams and embryology/gastrulation shows up a lot.