What MCAT score do I need?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sunflower18

Master of Naps
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

So I am a current sophomore, and I am planning on taking the MCAT this summer so that I can apply to med school in June 2014. However, I will not take Physics 2 or Bio 2 until next year (although my school covers all of general bio in one course, so this is less of a big deal). I know that this is recommended against. In a perfect world, I would have both of those classes taken along with Biochemistry before taking the MCAT. However, I wanted a whole summer to study, and I want to go directly from undergrad to medical school. I'm pretty set on at least trying to study this summer and seeing how it goes.

So here I am, making a game plan for this summer. I plan to self teach myself Physics 2 material. I have the textbook that my university uses for Physics 2 as well as a Physics 2 syllabus, so I hope to work through the textbook the way the class typically would. I am also meeting with a Physics faculty member to talk to them about problems they'd suggest or strategies for optimal success in self studying.

That being said, if I get to a few weeks before my test and my practice tests aren't showing what I want them to, I will absolutely cancel my MCAT and wait to take it in May 2014 while studying during spring semester. But I wanted to at least try, as it's totally possible that I may be able to get a good score through studying this summer. But, again, I could also not. Hard to say!