1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

what next

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by davril, Mar 28, 2000.

1. davril

davril Junior Member
    10+ Year Member

help. i am a student trying to get into medical school. I have applied twice and was put on an alternate list the first time and denied the second. i have graduated with honors in chemistry with a boichemist option(B.S), and biology (B.S).(and a minor in math). i also have a masters in biochemistry and molecular biology. i realize that my mcat score is on the low end (25) but i have work around medicine in many ways since i was 15 and i have several papers published from all the research i have done. some advisors (friends) tell me to give up but everything i have done in the last ten years was directed in becoming a doctor. i truly believe i would be a better doctor than most of my friends that are already in med school. what options do i have?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Smile

Smile Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Retake the MCAT and kick some serious a$$.

You did not mention your grades in undergrad and graduate school. Are they 3.5 or better? If not, you may consider taking some post-bacc courses through a formal program to demonstrate your ability to do well in a structured and rigorous courseload.

Besides all your biology/chemistry academic background, do you have any experiences in dealing with medicine first-hand? (ie, shadowing with physicians, lab technician, nurses aide, hospital volunteer, etc.) If not, you should pursue such experiences to strengthen your application.