What program to enroll in? What to do in the mean time?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Great Satchmo

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off, I have looked into these programs and done some reading, but I am still not entirely sure what step to take. I will access a pre-med adviser where I work soon, but I'd like some input from here first.

So I applied to clinical psychology Ph.D. programs this past cycle, and I graduated in May with my B.A. in psych (nearly a minor in computer science). I have a 3.6 overall, 3.8/3.85 last 2 years/in major. I scored 620v 650q and 5.5 (I believe, it was ~90%tile for the verbal and writing) on the GRE. During undergrad I had 2 RAships, 1 TA (for abnormal psych), board member for Psi Chi, volunteer work with Autism Speaks, an undergraduate research grant, conference presentation, co-author on a textbook chapter (in the Health Psychology Handbook), and have 2 papers in the works. I also spent about 2 months full time tutoring/teaching small groups of low SES-youth, mild learning disabilities, using a cognitive model.

Now I am a full time research assistant at Stanford, I have 2 PI's so I am working on a project that has to do with health behaviors and social/environmental influences, and then I'm working on developing an intervention for behavior change and health behaviors. I should hopefully be able to gain some more publication in this job before the next application cycle. They both surround health issues, mostly public health and epidemiology as well as social influences on health.

I want to go into medicine but I lack all of the pre-reqs, thusly I am looking at a career-changer post-bacc program, but I will need all of the courses.

I plan on volunteering at the hospital soon (orientation comes up in a week or two), and hopefully shadow following that.