What residencies are the easiest matches?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Homer17

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore in college and was wondering what are the easiest and hardest matches?

Members don't see this ad.

Hmmm...well there are LOTs of threads dealing with this issue, but I'll try...

First, a disclaimer. What follows are generalizations. That is, while IM may *in general* be an easier match, there are certain programs where it is infinitely more difficult to obtain a spot than in many other specialties. So take the following with a grain of salt. Conventional wisdom has it that...

EASIEST (in no particular order and probably forgetting some)

IM
Path
Psychiatry
Neuro
Anesth

HARDEST (notation as above)

Neurosurg
Ortho
Derm
ENT
Urology
Plastics
Rads
ER (although dropping in popularity as of late)

Everything else is somewhere in the middle...Gen Surg is getting less popular (as are all surgical residencies), PM&R more popular, Rad Onc pretty tough, etc.

I'm sure others will chime in with some I forgot, to correct or argue with me, but this should give you the gist of things.

I would add Family Practice to the easiest list as well. Might add Ophthalmology to the hardest list. And obviously, the terms "easy" and "hard" match all depend upon the applicant and the specific program.

is rads really hard to match? i thought rad was not so hard to match now; after all they have 1050 spots/yr. but i may be wrong...

u r correct gen surg is goin down the toilet - my attending said MGH gen surg didn't fill last yr ..

Why is it that ER is dropping in popularity?

Originally posted by chef
is rads really hard to match? i thought rad was not so hard to match now; after all they have 1050 spots/yr. but i may be wrong...

u r correct gen surg is goin down the toilet - my attending said MGH gen surg didn't fill last yr ..