Mar 28, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
Hi, I'm a first generation student. Currently at a state university, I am Mexican American and female... I'd like to ask for any advice of schools I should be considering... I would love to get into a great school like UCSF or Colombia... but I don't know if I should be setting my hopes so high. In all honestly, I just want to go to med school! Here's what I have to work with:
GPA is a 3.5
MCAT: yet to be taken... but on practice tests I'm scoring like a solid cumulative ~30... so I'm expecting around there for the actual.
Extras: 2years volunteer at children's hospital
1 year appointment research with hospital
Medical interpreter; volunteer for a free clinic who serve the uninsured/undocumented
Work as a caregiver for an autistic boy
Global Medical Brigade- provided medical treatment services to villagers in Honduras
Study Abroad - Australia and London (internships with both)
Major: Global Health
and there are orgs on campus I'm apart of... mostly which help encourage under represented youth come to college...
okay, so that's all I'll bore you with.
Any advice would be REALLY appreciated... thank you in advance!

bannie22

Hero
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Apr 6, 2009
Hi, I'm a first generation student. Currently at a state university, I am Mexican American and female... I'd like to ask for any advice of schools I should be considering... I would love to get into a great school like UCSF or Colombia... but I don't know if I should be setting my hopes so high. In all honestly, I just want to go to med school! Here's what I have to work with:
GPA is a 3.5
MCAT: yet to be taken... but on practice tests I'm scoring like a solid cumulative ~30... so I'm expecting around there for the actual.
Extras: 2years volunteer at children's hospital
1 year appointment research with hospital
Medical interpreter; volunteer for a free clinic who serve the uninsured/undocumented
Work as a caregiver for an autistic boy