Dismiss Notice
Last chance to give your feedback! Fill out the 2019 SDN Member Survey to let us know what's important to you (and win prizes!)

What schools do people simply despise?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by D-Bone, Feb 19, 2007.

1. D-Bone

7+ Year Member

What schools have really left a bad taste in your mouth throughout the whole application process? As a re-applicant, I'm pretty turned off by one particular school's handling of my application this year. It's one of the Harvard wanna-be's. I had a very favorable interview last year and was waitlisted, but was subsequently rejected this year...pre-interview. What gives? I know some may ask if I improved my application and what not...I worked as a research assistant at Harvard for the whole year and produced numerous abstracts, three of which should lead to publications in coming months. Oh, I also have two degrees from this school already too.

Just curious who else has felt slighted by schools and what were the circumstances.

2. baylormed

baylormed On the Search
    5+ Year Member

Post Doc
    I feel Drexel has a horrible system for handling applications. They never respond to e-mails promptly and they won't give out e-mail or snail-mail notifications of interview invites. My application was complete since July, I sent all the paperwork since June, yet it wasn't acknowledged until November or so.

I was not invited for an interview (at least not that I know, since it's been about 4 months since I checked their status page), but their disorganization turned me off completely.

This is just a comment on their administration skills, however, I don't know about anything else.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. armybound

armybound urologist.
    Physician Moderator Emeritus Verified Expert 10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]