What schools should I apply to?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jayhawk90

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My baseline stats are 3.65 gpa, 28 MCAT and solid ec's. What MD schools would I be competitive at?

Members don't see this ad.

Hey, you might get more of a response and more help if you do some research first. Take a look at the MSAR and see where you might be competitive. Then ask questions. With your stats, I'd suggest some of the low-tier MD schools as slight reaches and the mid to high tier DO schools as well for a safer bet.

Not enough information to make an assessment.

Members don't see this ad :)
Ok. Here is some more information.

I have shadowed two doctors over the course of my 3 years of college, one of which I did some research with.

I am volunteering at the local hospital once a week as well.

I am a resident of Kansas.

I am in a few honor societies/community service organizations on campus where I have served leadership roles.

I am signed up to take an MCAT early September to try and raise my score. I believe I will be able to do so.

Some places I have considered applying: KU, Creighton, Missouri, Michigan State, Loyola-Chicago, George Washington, Oklahoma, Nebraska

Thank you

Your EC are solid as you said. I would suggest applying to UIC, Rush, Drexel, NYMC, Buffalo, Arizona, Oakland, Cooper, EVMS, VCU, and maybe even Georgetown as a reach.

you have a shot at your instate and affiliated states.

kill the MCAT and worry about other things later.

apply to the new schools except the one in NJ, I "heard" its mostly instate.

Another question: I know that my best odds are with my in-state school, but what are some good out of state options that tend to consider more applicants from out of state? In case in state school does not work, I'd like to know here my best odds are to apply.

Thanks for everyone's help!