Jun 29, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
Hey everyone, I graduated in May 2016 with a Biology B.S. from Indiana University. In college, I had intentions of going onto medical school and volunteered/shadowed in hospitals and also volunteered in a local food bank. I took the MCAT a few times and at some point I just realized that I did not want to do medical school for the rest of my career. I've taken this summer to find out what I want to do and get jobs. I have a full time position as a medical scribe and pharmacy technician lined up. Now I'm thinking of dental school because I had intentions of doing it in high school. I have no experience, so what do you believe I should do with my time? Continue to work one of the jobs and shadow a dentist, or pursue some job in a dental office (I don't know what there is)? Thanks for the help!!

GPA: 3.772, Science GPA: ~3.7

OP
E
Jun 29, 2016
Status
Pre-Medical
how low is your MCAT that make you switch to dentistry as a back up?
I took it 3 times and got a 500 (50% percentile) each time. However, I took the first two times last summer and the last one this May. I decided in like February I didn't want to do medical school any longer. Too much school, too stressful, and I realized I never really enjoyed shadowing the physicians when I did it.

redhotchiligochu

D3
2+ Year Member
Jul 11, 2016
USA
Status
Dental Student
Don't switch to dentistry because you think it's "easier" because in reality, dentistry is no cakewalk.

Basically in your gap year, immerse yourself in anything dental related. Shadowing, assisting, working as a receptionist are all fine. Getting non-dental work experience helps also, just getting some real-world experience.

frozenicecreamDMD

2+ Year Member
Mar 23, 2016
Status
Dental Student