MD What should I do. Low GPA from undergrad BA but determined to become a Doctor.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Papercrane

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, this is my first post and needless to say I'm new to this site. I'm a non-traditional pre-med student. I graduated a couple years ago with a bachelors of arts and received a whopping 2.6 gpa. My grades were all over the place as I had a turbulent life during undergrad. I'm finally at a point in life where I'm ready to buckle down and pursue my life dreams. I'm not quite sure what I should do in order to make myself a competitive applicant. I have a couple options including going back to school and getting a 2nd bachelors, but in science and trying for the best grades possible or doing post-bac pre med and and applying with my current gpa. I only want to attend medschool in the U.S. as I have a family and I don't think it would be fair to move them to the Caribbean. Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

Look for a biomedical science/medical science program. The program is suppose to teach the core classes of medical and basically prove you can do the work

Reactions: 1 user
Look for a biomedical science/medical science program. The program is suppose to teach the core classes of medical and basically prove you can do the work
Would I be able to receive acceptance to any of the bio medical programs with my gpa? The only one I found was a masters program that required at least a 3.0.

Members don't see this ad :)
Some of the programs also consider letters of recommendation, GRE/MCAT/DAT scores.

Reactions: 1 user