Medical What should I do - Medical school, Masters, or 2nd BS?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goro

Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am hoping I can gather some advice and suggestions from you all. I graduated University in 2012 with a Bachelors of Science in Biology (minor forensic science). My dream job is a forensic pathologist (medical examiner). I know it's going to take some time to get there, but I'm up for the challenge. I graduated with about a 2.9GPA, which I know isn't great, and not to get into medical school right away certainly. Also, I know it's been 8 years since I was in school, my career path took a different direction, I started a family, and now I want to get back on track. I'm very unhappy with my career at the moment, and I want to do what I love.
I'm looking at various options, forensics, in general, is a huge interest of mine, so I'm looking at master's programs within the forensics field. I've looked into Medical School, Saint James School of Medicine in particular, because they seemed like the most doable option. I've also entertained the idea of going for a 2nd BS to get a better GPA to be able to attend a medical school in the US. I want to know your suggestions. Which route I should take, or if there are others that would suite me best.
Anything at all will help!

Thanks!
Don't even think of going to the Carib! That sound you hear off in the distance is SGU smacking their lips at the thought of yet another desperate mark to be preyed upon.

Read this:

Members don't see this ad.

That's what seems to be the consensus, stay away from the Carib!
Goro - reading your advice on that link, I think a post-bacc or SMP is the way to go. I'm so out of date with my studies - I took a practice MCAT and failed to remember most things! I need to get back in the game. I'm hoping going one of those routes will bring my GPA up and show I have the determination to go through with this!
1) Don't go carib