What should I do to be the strongest possible cadidate?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NRGStar

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm a 25 yo non-traditional student (got a masters and worked for 2 years as an engineer) currently taking prerequisite courses at a state school in the Bay Area. I've completed physics and math, and will be done with general chemistry this summer. In the fall, I'll have finished my year of basic bio. I'm currently taking 2 courses at a time, making As (though at an easy school), working 20 hours/wk as an engineer, and volunteering in the ED and radiology departments of Stanford Hospital. Currently my ugrad GPA is 3.62. By the time I apply, my GPA should be close to 3.7. As far as the MCAT goes, I haven't taken it, but have done practice tests in verbal and physical science, where I was scoring around the 12 level in each. I'm not yet prepared for the bio section.

I plan to apply June 1, 2010. To get there, I'm considering the following paths:

1) Stay at the state school (Cal State East Bay) and take bio electives, organic chemistry, and biochemistry next year while preparing for the MCAT. Continue to work as an engineer and financially support myself. Apply in June 2010.

2) Stay at the state school and take the classes described in (1) but perhaps some additional bio electives, and try to find a research project to get involved in that may link medicine and my previous field. Drop the job and take out loans to support myself.

3) Apply immediately to the Mills or Bryn Mawr postbac programs, start in the fall and take classes while doing research and planning to enter into a linkage. Obviously take out big loans.