What should I do?? What are my chances?? Non-traditional

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sahinak

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All!

So here is all about me:
4 year College with competitive sciences
SGPA: 3.0
CGPA: 3.45
MCAT: 32

Background:
I initially wanted to do law and so majored in political science. I actually got into law school but had a change of heart and decided on medicine after doing a premedical internship at a renowned hospital in NYC. I initially did crappy in my intro science (C) as I honestly wasn't mature and actually knew how to study then rose to almost all A's in my upper level bio courses.

Post graduation I took a 2 year break as I was expecting twins (I know crazy!) and needed to work for financial reasons. I worked as a consultant to a group of medical practices and a freelance wedding photographer. Currently I'm working in a pharmaceutical company and am formulating supplements to be released under my own label and company (I'm totally psyched!). I've decided to take this break to mature me and to figure out what I really want to do and it has always come back to medicine. And So I want to do this and am ready, much more than before.

I've also done tons of work outside the country on service trips and have 500+ hours with shadowing, clinical research and as an EMT. I decided DO long back as I interned with DO's and MD's and actually saw the difference in their practice. OMM also saved my life and so I truly believe in it and like the mindset behind it as we don't treat a symptom but the whole body.

My question:
-So I tried to retake Orgo where I got a C- and now I'm heading towards a B- (not much of an improvement). Will it matter?
-What are my chances?
-What can do to improve my chances?
-Where should I apply?

Be realistic and truthful. I appreciate everyone's effort in reading and writing on my post.