ce0000

5+ Year Member
Oct 21, 2009
Status
Medical Student
So I'm a recent graduate with a biology degree from UT-austin.....I'm currently back in school doing pre-reqs to get a Masters in computer science. I started out alright my first 2 years with an overall gpa of a 3.34 but during my last 2 years in my undergrad it dropped significantly down to a 2.7, due to a semester of 4 F's and mostly C's in my upper division Bio's. My EC's arent to terrible, because I did work in a hospital on and off throughout my undergrad and also did a summer of research and volunteered at hospitals during my first 2 years. I never devoted enough time to studying and always was either working or hanging out with friends. I switched over to computer science because it has always been a hobby of mine to program, but now I find myself regretting giving up going to med school. So in the end I've decided to go for it and do anything I can to get in....my question is what should i do now? I've read over some helpful topics in the "non-trad" forums and have a broad idea of what I should do, but don't really know if its the right choice. Ideally I want to get into a Texas med school so I looked into applying for a masters program that will help me get into med shcool and settled upon getting a Masters in medical sciences at UNTHSC. So right now I'm continuing with the comp sci pre-reqs to help boost my undergrad gpa, and bringing it to at least a 3.0. I plan on retaking genetics and biochem, and studying for my MCATs next summer '11. So i can apply for Spring'12 at UNTHSC. I know this is a relatively long road, but I dont see any other way to offset my terrible undergrad GPA and also not being an URM only makes things even harder for me.

Do you guys have any other ideas of what I should do? Thanks in advance for your help.

Sep 4, 2006
Inside the tesseract