what should I do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vikary

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all,
This is my first time posting so be kind. I need some honest advice. My entire college career, I thought I wanted to become a doctor more than anything. Is it possible to overdo it? I was a crazy obsessive compulsive studier who shut out everybody. Eventually I became depressed and couldn't recognize the person I say in the mirror. I hated who I became. Also, I was doing well in orgo 1, 92 on the first test. However, I am doing horribly in physics. I study hours and hours with no sleep and I get to the test and blank out. Counselors have told me that I try to hard. I have always done well. I had to withdraw. I don't know what's going on but I feel as if I am so confused about what to do with my life that I am going to have some kind of break down. I have crying spells, sometimes when I drive to school. But I keep trying because in my mind, the goal in the end would be worth it. I guess I have also been wondering if all along I was doing what I thought was expected of me all my life, so that I never actually knew what I actually wanted. I can tell you that for those who are fortunate enough to be admitted, that it is such a great accomplishment, and for those who believe that they really want it and never get there, it is the hardest thing to face.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey you, turn that gator frown upside down!! Physics sucks at UF, lots of people have trouble with that class.
It is definitely possible to overdo it, because you just did. Sounds like you need a vacation, so good thing one is coming up, right?
I felt pretty miserable my first couple years in college, then took a year off to figure things out. It was the best thing I ever did academically. I found myself again during that year. Something to consider.