What should I focus on in my senior year and potentially plan to take a 2nd gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ctlrj123

Reaction score
Hello:
I am currently an incoming senior in university and was planning to apply to medical school after I graduate (1 gap year) but now I am not sure if I should plan to take a second just in case. What should I focus on senior year if I don't want to put off applying another year? I am a CA resident and hope to stay here so is there anything I can do to maximize my chances in my last year? (I have not taken the MCAT so I understand that this can be difficult to determine without a score)

My GPA is a 3.85 and I currently have 450 clinical hours, about 200 volunteering in the geriatric floor at the hospital as a companion with more to come after Crisis Text Line for a year and a half and am hoping to volunteer at a free clinic this upcoming school year. I will have probably 750 research hours by the time I apply, 550 nonclinical employment and 400 doing scientific journalism where i write original research papers.

I hope to work in primary care, hopefully in geriatrics and would love to stay in CA. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
In-person service orientation activities that build on your responsibilities with Crisis Counseling will help you. The more the setting is non-clinical, the better. Specifically: food distribution, shelter volunteer, job/tax preparation, transportation services, or housing rehabilitation. If you want geriatrics, find more work with veterans, elderly assisted living, or hospice.

Reactions: 1 user