What should I major in?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

skibuff

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a freshman in college and I am planning to get into medicine. Next year i will have to pick a major and i am not sure what major to pick. Right now I am considering Economics. Does anyone think the workload would be to large with economics and the pre-med requirments? The stats show that Economics majors have a very high acceptance rate into medical school. I am also considering a Biology major. Does anyone have any good insight/advice for me?? What are you majoring in?

Members don't see this ad.

You can major in anything your heart desires!!

Just make sure you fulfill the pre-reqs for medical school (1yr general bio, 1yr general chem, 1yr org chem, & 1yr physics) before taking the MCAT or before applying to medical school.

The beauty of majoring in a science degree (ie biology) is that its already incorporated into the degree. If you plan to major in economics, then you will have to fulfill the requirements for that degree as well as pre-medical requirements...sounds like quite a load. Then again, many have chosen the non-science major route & have been successful in medical school. Go with what YOU want to do! Good luck!!!

Rob
WesternU/COMP MS II

Those acceptance rates for the different majors are skewed because of the large sample size for something like Biology, and the relatively tiny sample size for Economics.

Do something useful and major in Mathematics. You won't ever regret the rigorous training you get as a mathematician, and you get to hang out with the COOLEST people on campus!
wink.gif

Tim of New York City.
(BA in Mathematics)

Members don't see this ad :)
Tim's brain is definitly fried!