1. What do you find most helpful? Give us your feedback on the 2019 SDN Member Survey to help further the SDN mission (and win prizes!)
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

What should my GPA be for more competitive dental schools?

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by bb9931, Nov 29, 2008.

1. bb9931

Pre-Dental
    Hey guys, I'm a sophomore at Wayne State University in Detroit and I was wondering what kind of GPA's are competitive for schools like (UPenn, Harvard, Columbia, UCSF, UCLA etc...). I know what they are on the websites, but I was curious about what people did to get into those schools. I am planning on taking my DAT next summer, I'm a biochemistry and chemical biology major with a 3.66 GPA (Science GPA 3.62). I have no C's or anything (just 1 B-). What would be a good goal for my DAT?

2. cjb04

2+ Year Member

Dental Student
    Check out the schools you're interested in on predents.com. I believe it would be safe to assume that 3.7+ GPA, 22+ DAT, good extracurriculars and plenty of exposure to the field would make you a more attractive candidate. Unfortunately, there are plenty of applicants with these credentials and better who DON'T get interviews at some of these "top schools". Do your research, do well on the DAT, and apply to plenty of schools and you should be ok to get in somewhere.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. supraman

supraman Boston Celtics
    7+ Year Member

Dental Student
    As high as f*cking possible

4. Contach

10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    no, don't go too high. because then it's bad.

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Northside

2+ Year Member

Pre-Dental
    Haha, biochem and chemical biology... do they have any differences?