• Set Yourself Up For Success Webinar

October 6, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/11 AM Pacific
    SDN and Osmosis are teaming up to help you get set up for success this school year! We'll be covering study tips, healthy habits, and meeting mentors.

Register Now!

• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

What should my GPA be for more competitive dental schools?

bb9931

10+ Year Member
Feb 19, 2008
Detroit...
  1. Pre-Dental
Hey guys, I'm a sophomore at Wayne State University in Detroit and I was wondering what kind of GPA's are competitive for schools like (UPenn, Harvard, Columbia, UCSF, UCLA etc...). I know what they are on the websites, but I was curious about what people did to get into those schools. I am planning on taking my DAT next summer, I'm a biochemistry and chemical biology major with a 3.66 GPA (Science GPA 3.62). I have no C's or anything (just 1 B-). What would be a good goal for my DAT?

cjb04

10+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2008
Glendale, AZ
  1. Dental Student
Check out the schools you're interested in on predents.com. I believe it would be safe to assume that 3.7+ GPA, 22+ DAT, good extracurriculars and plenty of exposure to the field would make you a more attractive candidate. Unfortunately, there are plenty of applicants with these credentials and better who DON'T get interviews at some of these "top schools". Do your research, do well on the DAT, and apply to plenty of schools and you should be ok to get in somewhere.

About the Ads

Northside

10+ Year Member
Sep 19, 2008
  1. Pre-Dental