What should my GPA be for more competitive dental schools?

bb9931

10+ Year Member
Feb 19, 2008
Detroit...
Status
Pre-Dental
Hey guys, I'm a sophomore at Wayne State University in Detroit and I was wondering what kind of GPA's are competitive for schools like (UPenn, Harvard, Columbia, UCSF, UCLA etc...). I know what they are on the websites, but I was curious about what people did to get into those schools. I am planning on taking my DAT next summer, I'm a biochemistry and chemical biology major with a 3.66 GPA (Science GPA 3.62). I have no C's or anything (just 1 B-). What would be a good goal for my DAT?

cjb04

10+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2008
Glendale, AZ
Status
Dental Student
Check out the schools you're interested in on predents.com. I believe it would be safe to assume that 3.7+ GPA, 22+ DAT, good extracurriculars and plenty of exposure to the field would make you a more attractive candidate. Unfortunately, there are plenty of applicants with these credentials and better who DON'T get interviews at some of these "top schools". Do your research, do well on the DAT, and apply to plenty of schools and you should be ok to get in somewhere.

supraman

Boston Celtics
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Oct 30, 2005
Status
Dental Student
As high as f*cking possible

About the Ads

Northside

10+ Year Member
Sep 19, 2008
Status
Pre-Dental
Hey guys, I'm a sophomore at Wayne State University in Detroit and I was wondering what kind of GPA's are competitive for schools like (UPenn, Harvard, Columbia, UCSF, UCLA etc...). I know what they are on the websites, but I was curious about what people did to get into those schools. I am planning on taking my DAT next summer, I'm a biochemistry and chemical biology major with a 3.66 GPA (Science GPA 3.62). I have no C's or anything (just 1 B-). What would be a good goal for my DAT?
Haha, biochem and chemical biology... do they have any differences?