What should my realistic expectations be?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jrobin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First off, I am a non-traditional student (and not a URM) and it took me a long time to realize I wanted to become a doctor. I graduated from the University of Michigan with a 2.52 gpa with a major in polisci and only took 2 science courses as a student there. Right after graduation I enrolled as a post-bac student at another local institution (a 4 year university) and took ALL the pre-requisite science courses in a single year earning a 3.78 gpa. So my stats are thus:

cGPA: 2.8
sGPA: 3.48
MCAT: 25 (however I've taken it a 2nd time and am waiting for the results, i was scoring 32/33 on practice AAMC's so I'm hoping for at least a 31)

EC's:
1) Ton's of clinical experience as I've been a member of surgical teams during heart operations for the past 2.5 years
2) Over a 100 hours shadowing M.D. heart surgeons
3) will spend the next year volunteering for a hospice program
4) Will be part of a medical mission trip to Ethiopia in May, again as part of a surgical team
5) certified as a PBMT (peri-operative blood management technician)

I feel that I will be competitve for some D.O. schools but have almost no chance at M.D. I applied broadly to both however (27 M.D. programs and 18 D.O.) Is this a realistic expectation, or are even D.O. schools stretch? Any insight would greatly appreciated. Thanks everybody

Members don't see this ad.

I would like to help fellow Michigan people out, but below a 3.0, even a 3.3, is hard to overcome. MDs will not accept you, but maybe you could get one DO school? You'll have to retake the MCAT and maybe even look at another way to increase the cGPA. That's going to get you screened almost everywhere.

Really look into things like SMPs and if another postbacc is possible, then do that.