What to do next?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Onthefence38

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm currently a sophomore at a top 20 undergrad university. I just finished my fall semester and was hit with a reality check. Up till now, I've been doing okay in all of my pre-med courses:
Chem I&II A-/A-
Bio I&II A/A-
Calc II/III A/B
Other courses As with one B+
I took orgo I this past semester, and got a D+ and a B+ in lab.

I realize that this is extremely bad and has greatly diminished my chances, but there are some legitimate reasons for this. I thought I could do more than I did freshman year, and took 19 credits plus 12 hours of research per week. I know having hard classes is no excuse, but I think it had an effect by reducing the time I could spend on the class. I feel that if I had more time to spend on orgo, I could have made a better grade. I don't think it's a lack of ability, but rather a lack of time.

Regardless, this grade has led me to seriously reexamine what my future plans are, as it should. I am currently an econ minor, so I was wondering if I should switch to it as a major?

If I do decide to stay on the pre-med path, I would lighten my courses next semester and focus the vast majority of my time on Orgo 2, then retake Orgo 1 fall of my junior year.

The question is, then, is it worth it with the hit I've taken to stay pre-med, or should I cut my losses immediately and focus on Econ?

Members don't see this ad.

Retake it and get an A. Don't receive anymore grades below a B. Get a solid mcat score, volunteering, LORs...the usual. Orgo is used as a measuring stick for admissions but if you're solid everywhere else and retake then you should be able to get interviews.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi all,