• The site has been updated!

If you see any bugs, please report them in this thread.

What to look for in a Medical School?

BloodySurgeon

Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Nov 20, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Right now im studying for the MCATs and am just starting to try and get familiar with the med schools in the U.S. I was wondering, what are the sort of things I should be looking for in a med school and what types of things take in play when ppl rank med schools via research and primary care? I am not interested in research, however, Im starting to find out that as a med student i prob need to do research for good residency and having a prestigious school with high resources may be a factor (for clerkship and research). I have really good grades and I don't care the prestige of the school, all I really care about is good residency. Of course its gonna be factored down to what my USMLE part I score is, but how much factor does a school have on that?

armybound

urologist.
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Jan 1, 2007
Uranus
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician
Take into consideration location. Not only because you might not like the hustle & bustle of the city (you if that's what you want..) but because your patients will reflect upon your location. If the school's in the middle of nowhere, you probably won't get a lot of trauma/gunshot wounds/car accidents. If it's in the middle of a big city, expect a lot of it.

About the Ads

Law2Doc

5K+ Member
Moderator Emeritus
10+ Year Member
Dec 20, 2004
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician