Jul 29, 2010
Status
Pre-Pharmacy
I have a couple of interviews coming up and I'm worried about if they ask me why I don't have a lot of pharmacy experience. The rest of my application is very strong, and I have over 375 hours logged volunteering in a hospital setting, just not in a pharmacy.

When it comes to why I did not pursue a pharmacy technician job, that is an easier answer: the job I hold now and have held since freshman year is extremely flexible and pays very well compared to a tech job, and since I am a self-supporting student, I cannot afford the pay cut.

What I'm afraid of, though, is if they then ask "Okay, but why didn't you shadow more?"

I have one shadowing instance that took place back in high school. Since then I haven't really done any shadowing. The real reason: I do a lot of research on the profession, and I don't feel like shadowing is going to give me much more perspective than I already have. I know with 100% certainty from my research that I want this career. But, telling them that would be really dumb, I think.

I have interviewed a couple of pharmacist faculty members about their individual projects, and I do a lot of research on the profession and keep up with the journals pretty well. I'm also realizing that I do need some shadowing simply because it looks good, so I'm pursuing some opportunities, but I'm also very shy, and cold-calling pharmacies and asking if I can shadow is very hard for me.

I don't know how to work this so I don't "shoot myself in the foot" so to speak. I want to tell them I realize shadowing is important (because that's what they want to hear, and for some people it is), and that I'm trying to get more experience in, but at the same time I want to assure them that I know what I'm doing and I'm sure that I want this.

Help!

Aug 19, 2010
Chapel Hill, NC
Status
Pharmacy Student