What type of job to bolster application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phillyfan49

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all!

I just got done my fall semester at my new school, and my goal to becoming a PT is on track very nicely. After having many personal struggles my first two years, I decided to transfer to a different school and get a fresh start. What a great decision! I got an A in A&P 1, an A- in Concepts of Bio, an A- in my anthro class, and I am still waiting for my stats grade.

Now for my questions. I am technically a junior, but am a little behind due to some credits not transferring, and having to drop a class while at my old school. I am going on an internship/job hunt this week. I currently work as a lifeguard at a YMCA, but I want a job that can bolster my application. What type of job should I look for? Also, when applying for internships, I plan on going to various PT places and hospitals and giving them my resume and my unofficial transcript. Should I put anything else along with it? When I go and apply for PT internships, should I also inquire about job opportunities while I am home for winter? And lastly, if they do not offer an internship, would shadowing be just as beneficial? I am confused on the whole hours breakdown to get into PT school.

I know this is a ton of questions, but any help is greatly appreciated!!

Members don't see this ad.

I would say try to find a PT Aide job if possible, whether in a private outpatient clinic, in a hospital, at a nursing home, etc. Any of these, plus more, will give you great experience and exposure to the field.