What type of numbers should I be shooting for during my Post-Bacc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fauxrealist

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm currently enrolled in a post-bacc program and I'm trying to figure out the minimum numbers I'll need to get into an allopathic school. (Not that I'm against DO). I finished my first year of post-bacc with a 3.72 cGPA/BCPM GPA. I'm in the process of finishing up Chem II and Stats and thus have 39 credits left to increase that number.

My AMCAS cGPA (without post-bacc classes) was 3.18. My sGPA from undergrad was a 2.7 (though I only took 1 3 credit B.S. physics for poets class that was part of our core curriculum).

Prior to attending this post-bacc program, I worked as a lawyer. I am currently scribing for clinical experience. I have a fair amount of research hours from when I was a research assistant during law school. I also have 1000+ volunteering hours from my time in law school.

I think I can paint a pretty good picture of why I got into medicine: I was working as an entertainment lawyer in the music industry in NYC and began frequently visiting MSK with various family members who got sick with cancer at the same time. Seeing what those doctors did inspired me to leave my job as a celebrity attorney to pursue a career in oncology.

I'm going to take the MCAT in March or April, so I'm wondering what number on that exam (I've always done well on standardized tests) and what cumulative GPA for post-bacc I should be shooting for.

Thanks so much in advance.

Members don't see this ad.