What would you do in my situation?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

srbm1786

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm planning to apply next cycle, hoping for a spot in the class of 2017 (preferably at LSU, as I'm a Louisiana resident, but I'll go anywhere).

Here's my situation - I'm not taking Organic Chemistry until next summer. There's just no way I can fit it into my schedule before that. I know that early application is favorable, but in order to apply in June, I will have to take the DAT without having taken OChem.

I feel pretty confident about Biology, GenChem, RC, and QR (obviously I'll need to review over the next year, but I have a strong base in those areas). I just bought Crack DAT PAT so I can spend the next year working on getting a good PAT score.

Let's assume for the sake of this post that my GPA is competitive (4.0 right now, but I'm taking Microbiology and Physics next semester, so we'll see), and that all my volunteering/shadowing/ECs/LORs are in place. And let's assume I can do reasonably well on the other parts of the DAT. Which would you do:

- Spend the next year teaching myself Organic Chemistry (I plan to get Chad's videos and any other resources y'all recommend), and take the DAT and apply in June, OR

- take the DAT and apply in August, after completing OChem?

I'm just not sure if it's better to risk the possibility of a lower DAT score with early application, or risk a late application with a potentially higher score.

Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm planning to apply next cycle, hoping for a spot in the class of 2017 (preferably at LSU, as I'm a Louisiana resident, but I'll go anywhere).