Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

What would you do?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by ajay786, Jan 1, 2009.

1. ajay786

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Happy New Year everyone!!

I need your help. I am a second year student at a 4 year university. Last summer, I took 3 classes over the summer which include Gen. Chem I & II as well as Calculus II. I am debating whether or not I should take Physics I and/or Physics II over this coming summer. What would you recommend? What would you do? Thanks a lot. I really appreciate it.

Sincerely,

AJ

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. WolverineDoc13

WolverineDoc13 Good Times in the Midwest
    7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    It's possible. I've seen students do it before, and no one is stopping you from taking those courses.

However, I have to ask: why are you doing this? Is there a reason why physics can't wait until the fall/winter semesters?

I only ask because you can spend the summer shadowing, volunteering, working, or doing something else that would be more beneficial for you.

Just a thought.

4. ajay786

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    Well I have three reasons
    1. I want to take the MCAT as soon as possible in case I need to retake them and that way it wouldn't interfere with me applying asap in June of next year.
    2. Physics is really hard at my school.
    3. My gpa is not that stellar and I can use the boost.

As far as shadowing goes, I have more than 80 hours so far. I also volunteer once a week in the er at the hospital. I see your point though.

5. JacksonInTheBox

5+ Year Member

Pre-Medical