Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

What're my chances.. somebody please help

Discussion in 'Optometry' started by mmp, May 6, 2002.

1. mmp

mmp Junior Member

Hi yall,

I'm a newbie in here. Here's "me". Im a senior graduating dis may with a BS, bio major and chem minor. Im having a 2.68 GPA (I know I know.. dont scream at me =). I havent taken the OAT yet. I was just wondering if anyone think i would have a shot at getting in an optometry school. Im so frustrated. Im planning to apply dis summer for fall 2003 and take the OAT in oct. I dont have any experience with optometry yet but im planning to do dat dis summer (I was on a premed track and changed it to pharmacy on my third year.. but now I finally know I wanna become an optometrist).

I also thought of trying to get in a master prog and apply for opt after dat but I dont know if that's neccessary. Sorrie for a long post.. but what you guys think I should do or just give up completely.

mmp

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. christie

christie Senior Member

Hi mmp,

I don't think you should give up your goal in becoming an Optometrist. You can still make it. Just study hard for the OAT, and try to do well on it. If there are any prerequisites that you didn't do well in, then think about retaking it over the summer. Shadow an OD in your area over the summer too.

If you have any other questions, feel free to ask. Good Luck!

4. Ballew21

Ballew21 Junior Member

I'm probably not the most qualified person to answer this question, but here are my thoughts on your situation.

If I were in your shoes, I would try to put off graduation, if at all possible. Once you finish your undergrad studies, you'll have to pay for any extra undergraduate classes out of pocket.