1. The SDN iPhone App is back and free through November! Get it today and please post a review on the App Store!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

what's good ECs that I can start today?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by skazyjae, Aug 17, 2011.

1. skazyjae

7+ Year Member

I wondered what I can do right now. I have no clinical experience at this point (junior at undergrad). and I just realized that I have to have some clinical experience. What are some examples of ecs..

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Teppil

7+ Year Member

Medical Student
    volunteer at hospitals around where u live
    shadow some docs
    join/lead clubs at your school

4. Morsetlis

Morsetlis I wish I were a dentist
    7+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    If it's already your junior year I think you will need to take a gap year unless your stats are great.

You need clinical experience: you need to be able to smell and touch the patients (but perhaps not perform any medical interventions).

Taking a CNA / EMT course and then getting a job or multiple ride-alongs and externships could be useful.

Hospital volunteering is useful: identify the closest hospital that lets you do the most and start.

Shadowing is limited: while it offers familiarity with the US medical system and lets you know how things work, you are often unable to interact.

5. tn4596

5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    i just use google map and look up any local hospital where i can volunteer...then i find their website and apply/or call them
    same methods if u wanna shadow.
    start finding a research project if you are interested in doing that.

6. AymAyzing

AymAyzing Stay away from Q-tips...

Pre-Medical