• Please review the updated member agreement. Included is a new statement supporting the scientific method and evidence-based medicine. Claims or statements about disease processes should reference widely accepted scientific resources. Theoretical medical speculation is encouraged as part of the overall scientific process. However, unscientific statements that promote unfounded ideological positions or agendas may be removed.

skazyjae

7+ Year Member
May 26, 2010
Status
I wondered what I can do right now. I have no clinical experience at this point (junior at undergrad). and I just realized that I have to have some clinical experience. What are some examples of ecs..

Teppil

7+ Year Member
Jun 10, 2011
Status
Medical Student
volunteer at hospitals around where u live
shadow some docs
join/lead clubs at your school

Morsetlis

I wish I were a dentist
7+ Year Member
Jan 22, 2010
The "Garden" State
Status
Resident [Any Field]
If it's already your junior year I think you will need to take a gap year unless your stats are great.

You need clinical experience: you need to be able to smell and touch the patients (but perhaps not perform any medical interventions).

Taking a CNA / EMT course and then getting a job or multiple ride-alongs and externships could be useful.

Hospital volunteering is useful: identify the closest hospital that lets you do the most and start.

Shadowing is limited: while it offers familiarity with the US medical system and lets you know how things work, you are often unable to interact.

About the Ads

tn4596

7+ Year Member
Jul 23, 2011
Status
Medical Student
i just use google map and look up any local hospital where i can volunteer...then i find their website and apply/or call them
same methods if u wanna shadow.
start finding a research project if you are interested in doing that.

AymAyzing

Stay away from Q-tips...
Jun 17, 2011
State for lovers
Status
Pre-Medical