When am I supposed to take the MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ezio

cheese steaks
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a bit confused. I am a sophomore right now. on track to be class of 2017.

So i imagine i would have to go HAM on studying the MCAT in the summer of 2015 and take it sometime in Fall 2015 or Spring 2016??

also is there a definitive guide for the new MCAT yet? (probably not, right?)

Members don't see this ad.

A lot of people study the whole summer after sophomore year and take it sometime before the fall semester starts. For you that would involve studying all of summer 2015 and taking it sometime in August or September of 2015.

Go to the MCAT subforum for more info.

A lot of people study the whole summer after sophomore year and take it sometime before the fall semester starts. For you that would involve studying all of summer 2015 and taking it sometime in August or September of 2015.

Go to the MCAT subforum for more info.

Taking it before junior year is pretty early.

Members don't see this ad :)
Taking it before junior year is pretty early.

Not for people going straight from undergrad to med school without a gap year. The summer before application is the best time to study for the MCAT with no other responsibilities.

Most people who wish to avoid a gap year take it Spring of Junior year, but that doesn't mean it's the best time to take it. I argue that summer after sophomore year is.

Most people take it either at the end of Summer of sophomore year or at the beginning of Summer at the end of junior year. Also, if you want to take gap years, make sure your MCAT doesn't expire before you apply.

Not for people going straight from undergrad to med school without a gap year. The summer before application is the best time to study for the MCAT with no other responsibilities.

Uh...