Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

When choosing research...

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by TroubledStudent, Dec 15, 2008.

1. TroubledStudent

2+ Year Member

Hey everyone, I am a freshman in college, and next semester I am going to pick a research opportunity. I was wondering, in terms of boosting my chances of getting into med. school, which would be better to take:

-A volunteer research opportunity in which I am working in a lab; i will eventually work on my own projects; 1-2 papers might be published

-A volunteer research opportunity in which all work in done at home; this one publishes a TON of papers, probably around 15 with my name on them by the time i graduate

Basically, to med. schools, is lab experience more important (i already have some), or is publishing papers a bigger deal

Also, what other recommendations do you guys have in terms of what extracurricular activities i should pursue over the next 4 years?

Thanks

2. 236116

Pre-Health (Field Undecided)
    Which do you like better? Which one are you going to get happy face talking about?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. TroubledStudent

2+ Year Member

I honestly like them both. Working in a lab is always a great experience, but the research with the published papers is about nanotechnology, which i find really interesting. so thats why I'm asking the question about which one is more respectable

4. 236116

It doesn't really matter beyond what you want to do, tbqh. Is either more applicable to your major?

What are your clinicals, volunteering?

Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. TroubledStudent

2+ Year Member