When did you (should one) start studying for MCATs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrSal

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all.

With the Aug. mcat over, i just want to get some feedback on how early you guys started (in months, and how many hrs/day or /wk). Anything you wish you'd done differently?

Thanks! Best of luck to you!

Members don't see this ad.

I started roughly 2 months and a bit prior to the exam by going through a Kaplan book and highlighting as well as making flash cards. I don't know how I did, but regardless of the score I can say that I studied enough. The only thing I wish I did differently was sleep more before the exam, but I was just too excited the night before for that to ever happen. Overall I think the majority of my problems on the exam were the result of nervousness than anything else. Of course that will only make you more neverous when you go in, so maybe I shouldn't have told you that.:eek:

Oh don't worry about it--i already get a funny little feeling in my stomach when i think about the exam :D (all the tiny little caterpillars in the process of building their cacoons so that they can come out and meet the world april 17th :laugh: )

Which is why i'm trying to get advice now so that i can channel my anxiety energy into something more productive (also considering being put on anti-anxiety medication...does paxil work for stuff like this...)

But this is what i tell myself, i'm not going there (test center on test day) to get a limb amputated or anything (just trying to put things in perspective ;) )

Cheers!

study ASAP.... i studied hard core the last 2 months and a little the month b4 that...i would start studying ASAP like i said b4 lol