When I am a resident, I will... (feel free to add your own)

Discussion in 'Clinical Rotations' started by Ypo., Jun 21, 2008.

1. Ypo.

7+ Year Member

1. Make my expectations clear to students (ie not expect them to read my mind).

2. Treat nurses with respect, even if they are completely rude.

3. Never give a student a bad evaluation without talking to them about it first and giving them a chance to improve.

4. Encourage medical students to write orders.

5. Help out the medical students with their presentations and SOAP notes in the beginning of third year.

6. NEVER disparage a medical student's choice of specialty.

7. Give medical students a chance to do some procedures (assuming I already have a few under my belt:D).

8. Not be obsessed with hierarchy.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Ashers

Ashers Bacteria? Don't exist.
    Physician Faculty 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    Let students leave when there's nothing to do.

4. smq123

smq123 John William Waterhouse
    Administrator Physician SDN Advisor 10+ Year Member

Attending Physician
    :thumbup: And never let a med student's choice of specialty affect the grade that he/she gets from me.

When I am a resident, I will...

9. Defend the med students from the nurses, and request that the techs treat the med students like human beings. (Novel concept, I know. :rolleyes:)

5. flumazenil

2+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    I will...
    1) understand the fact that students generally want to be at home reading up or catching up with other nonmedical issues.
    2) when there is down time I will let them go home
    3) encourage them to actively take part in medicine
    4) NEVER say anything ( or try to at least ) to discourage them
    5) make sure they treat everyone with respect

6. haveaniceday

5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    1. remember what it was like to be a MS3
    2. treat MS3s like the adult humans that they are, not like infants