When is the right time to start studying for the Step 1?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Unzbuzzled

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a US medical student about to go into my second year. I already bought First Aid and I've started watching pathoma (what a great lecturer Dr. Sattar is!). I am thinking about getting the year-long subscription to UWorld just so I can get a head start now. But every time I ask my classmates what I should be doing to study, they just call me a gunner and say not to worry about it until January or at least until M2 year starts. I don't know what I want to do as a career yet, but I want to keep my options open, and that means doing well on the Step 1. My wife is also pregnant, so I'm stuck in Chicago for the summer with nothing but easy clinical research to do. So...

When did you guys start studying for the Step 1?

How did you guys structure your studying, especially during the school year?

What are the best study aids that have helped you the most?

Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

honestly, ur entire med school career. just pay attention in class and truly understand everything instead of memorizing..thats the way to get the 260

I'm a US medical student about to go into my second year. I already bought First Aid and I've started watching pathoma (what a great lecturer Dr. Sattar is!). I am thinking about getting the year-long subscription to UWorld just so I can get a head start now. But every time I ask my classmates what I should be doing to study, they just call me a gunner and say not to worry about it until January or at least until M2 year starts. I don't know what I want to do as a career yet, but I want to keep my options open, and that means doing well on the Step 1. My wife is also pregnant, so I'm stuck in Chicago for the summer with nothing but easy clinical research to do. So...

Thanks in advance!