When should I start MCAT review? Orgo 1 &2?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

estradiol9

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore undergrad at NJIT/Rutgers. I've completed a good portion of med-school requirements including: 1 semester of calculus, 2 semesters of biology, 1 semester of general chemistry, 1 semester of physics, and 2 semesters of english/humanities. From what I've read, all I have left is one more semester of general chemistry, a semester of physics, and two of organic chemistry.

When should I start MCAT reviewing? I want to take an MCAT prep course in addition to studying/reviewing on my own. When do most people take their MCATS? Also.. do I have to wait until I'm done with all these courses until taking an MCAT prep course? Is organic chemistry 1 AND 2 on the MCATs?

Members don't see this ad.

Honestly, you have all the difficult content to still learn. Physics II is by far the toughest material, and Gen Chem II is probably tested the most. Orgo isn't heavy on the MCAT, but you have to know things from both semesters. Bio is where I think one can get away the most without classes, although it's still a lot of content.

I started MCAT review about 3 years after I took all my pre-reqs (I was done by freshman year) and I did the Kaplan thing for about a month and a half (USELESS, I felt no more prepared afterwards than I did before hand) and then spent about 3 weeks studying on my own and went from 27 on my first FL (24 on my diagnostic) to mid-30s on FLs (and my test is in a week).