when the committee sends us its letters, they're not sending us their best, folks

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted812153

My school has an LOR committee. I graduated last summer. Do I have to go through the committee to get the letters of rec from my professors, or can I just ask them on my own? Does it matter if I just ask them independently?

(I would prefer not to go through the committee. I didn't bother to impress my professors, and didn't really give a **** about most of classes if I kept good grades, and it showed)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 1 users
My school worked like this:

You ask the professors you want to write letters for you individually and ask them to send the letter to your pre-med adviser. Then you contact your premed adviser and set up the committee interview. That letter gets packaged along with the individual prof. letters by your premed adviser and uploaded to AACOMAS or wherever you want.

If your school has a committee and you qualify for a committee rec, I would say just go get it if you still can. No reason not to if you have good grades and interview reasonably well (which you need to be able to do anyway to get into school, and this is basically a good practice run)

Thank you for your time, Psuedo.

I'm not sure I fully understand how the committee works. I thought that I go to a room with a bunch of professors (think 'Council of the Elders' type deal), ask them if I am worthy of a letter, they convene and decide if I am meritorious.

Yours sounds less like Game of Thrones so you're probably right on this one. What exactly is the committee interview, anyways? Who is that committee?

Members don't see this ad :)