When the Trauma Center becomes overwhelmed, what is next?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Makethatcargowooot

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
To preface, I’m a 4th year med student with limited ER experience.

In light of recent events I’ve considered what exactly happens when a trauma center becomes overwhelmed? Even after triage, if there are simply too many patients in critical condition who can be saved, what are the next steps taken?

Members don't see this ad.

Hospitals have disaster response protocols for situations like this. I think I saw some interesting articles about the responses in Orlando and in Vegas in some sort of publications but I can't recall where.

Members don't see this ad :)
Sounds like Sunrise got almost all the Pts.

I had the pleasure to listen to a talk from both trauma centers in Las Vegas. It sounded like both hospitals got way more trauma patients at one time than I could ever imagine. In addition some of the numbers are staggering (800+ units of blood), 30+ people with aliases at one time.

Very frightening and quite inspirational at the same time.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

To preface, I’m a 4th year med student with limited ER experience.

In light of recent events I’ve considered what exactly happens when a trauma center becomes overwhelmed? Even after triage, if there are simply too many patients in critical condition who can be saved, what are the next steps taken?

It's called triage- the process of deciding who dies and who doesn't.

Remember also that there is usually more than just the trauma center available. EMS systems have plans in place for disasters to divert ambulances to other certified acute receiving hospitals that have board-certified EM physicians who are capable of managing and stabilizing trauma patients even if they don't have the resources backing them that a Level I/II trauma center does.