When to buy disability insurance?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Wildsheepchase

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a D4 soon to graduate and going to do an one-year AEGD. I've been seeing a lot of offers on locking down the student rate for disability insurance. Would it be a good time to get disability insurance right now or wait until I start working? And do most dentists get disability insurance?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a D4 soon to graduate and going to do an one-year AEGD. I've been seeing a lot of offers on locking down the student rate for disability insurance. Would it be a good time to get disability insurance right now or wait until I start working? And do most dentists get disability insurance?

Lock in a rate before you graduate. You scale it up later. You should probably pay $100-150 a month in disability insurance initially. I'm entering specialty training and about to take out a second policy. Disability insurance is the most valuable insurance you'll purchase. If for any reason you can't continue performing dentistry, you collect your entire disability policy tax free. And you can continue to work doing something else. Many dentists retire early for qualifying disabilities; it is not uncommon at all.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Are you a member of the American Student Dental Association?
I think they offer just what you are looking for.

Last edited:
Buy it now while you are healthy and the premium is cheap. I had to file when I was 36. I get messages from doctors in their 40s looking to buy it and the premiums go up as you get older and as you get diagnosed with random stuff as you age.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
A few weeks before you graduate. You want an option to increase coverage without a medical examination.