Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

When to get letters of recommendation?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by penisclaw, Apr 16, 2007.

1. penisclaw

penisclaw Membership Revoked
    Removed 2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    I am currently a junior at my undergrad university and am looking to start my application over the summer for med school 2008. I talked to my advisor about getting letters of recommendation for the AAMC, and he suggested I start looking to do so now, before all the professors leave for the summer. I tried to set up my application with AMCAS, but it isn't available until May 7th or so. It's my understanding that the letter writers mail the letters directly to the AAMC, but how can they do so without the AAMC having any record of me because I haven't set up an app yet? Am I misinformed about something or should I just be waiting until later to get my letters?

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. mongrel

mongrel Assoc. Prof. Dogsuit
    5+ Year Member

Medical Student
    If your school doesn't have a letter forwarding service, you may find using Interfolio (www.interfolio.com) necessary. If you go to their website you can read more about their service.

Edit: in addition, if you do a quick search of forums you can find out what other SDN'ers had to say about them too.

4. alwaysaangel

5+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Resident [Any Field]
    Your understanding is wrong. AAMC has nothing to do with your LORs they don't accept them, keep them or distribute them, so don't stress about that. And you won't be able to get on AAMC until the beginning of May.

However, you cannot take the letters from the writers and forward them to schools themselves either.