When to start studying for the MCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

shikki79

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
How long before the August MCAT should one start studying.
I just started studying last week (so I guess I have about two months).
Any advice on a study strategy to help me make the best use of the little time I have.
(I'm taking the MCAT for the first time.)

Also what is an acceptable science gpa. Is it calculated based on the medical school prerequisites or based on every science/math class you've ever taken. (I'm a chem major that's why I was wondering).

Members don't see this ad.

the science gpa is calculated based on every science/math course you've ever taken. therefore, your upper level chem classes will be included.

hard to say when to start studying. really depends on the person. i've been out of college for 5 years so haven't seen the material in a really long time. i started studying a couple of months ago. you'll probably be fine if you you're still in college & you start studying hard now.

•••quote:•••Originally posted by shikki79:
•How long before the August MCAT should one start studying.
I just started studying last week (so I guess I have about two months).
Any advice on a study strategy to help me make the best use of the little time I have.
(I'm taking the MCAT for the first time.)