where are medical school interviews held?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Bob Doe

The four yonko of medicine
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a NY resident applying to every MD school in NY, and plenty away from NY too like Texas and California. My question is if I apply to these schools far away from me and they ask me to come in for an interview will I have to travel back and forth to Texas and California or wherever each time I have an interview and for each school that wants to interview me or can I save the air fare and interview for these schools in my home state ?

If this has been asked before and I'm sure it has, I apologize but if I found it I wouldn't be writing this thread, please someone give me an answer.

Members don't see this ad.

Pretty much. Start racking up some air fare points!

Reactions: 1 user
I am a NY resident applying to every MD school in NY, and plenty away from NY too like Texas and California. My question is if I apply to these schools far away from me and they ask me to come in for an interview will I have to travel back and forth to Texas and California or wherever each time I have an interview and for each school that wants to interview me or can I save the air fare and interview for these schools in my home state ?

If this has been asked before and I'm sure it has, I apologize but if I found it I wouldn't be writing this thread, please someone give me an answer.
99% of the time interviews are at the medical school. In some rare circumstances, med schools will do phone interviews, but they usually only do this when the interviewee is currently living outside of the country.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, you will travel to the actual school and have your interview there. You'll meet current students and receive a tour of their educational/medical facilities. Most people who apply broadly end up traveling quite a bit (so save up some $$).